Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

To Be At Rest

Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you. – (Psalm 116:7)

 

Though I know God is good, I am always surprised by His goodness to me, personally. When my soul is stirred up, and rest is far from me, He makes His heart for me tangible, through the kindness of the people He has placed around me. Continually, I am in awe of how He cares for us, and does not want dismay to dominate our hearts and minds. Though the road may be rough at times, He does not ask us to travel alone. He is always with us, and often He sends the faithful to walk beside us – acting as His hands, heart and voice, when we need it the most. My soul finds rest, even in the midst of stormy seasons, because He is always good.

 

Be at rest once more,To Be At Rest

O my weary soul;

for the Lord is good,

when life takes it’s toll.

His presence remains,

no matter the storm;

in His sweet embrace,

we’ll stay safe and warm.

The gift of His grace,

often tangible;

as His heart is shown,

to us by faithful.

His hands and His heart,

His voice and His peace;

extended to us,

grant unrest release.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that our soul finds rest in You. Thank You that You are so very good to us, though we deserve it not. Thank You that Your goodness is not dependent on our faithfulness. Thank You for Your Holy Spirit, who dwells in the hearts of all who believe, and for Your tender mercy that makes Your love for us tangible through the hands, hearts and voices of those whom You send to walk beside us. Forgive us for our unrest, and help us to fix our eyes and hearts on Your goodness and grace that grant us life everlasting. May we live and love as You love us, so that many may come to know who You are, and how much You love. Let those who are looking, find You. May we honor You as we remain at rest within our souls, seeking to serve You with all that we are. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

The joy of the Lord is your strength. – Nehemiah 8:10

Comments are closed.