Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Cling to Hope

No one whose hope is in You

will ever be put to shame,

but they will be put to shame

who are treacherous without excuse.

Show me Your ways, O Lord,

teach me Your paths;

guide me in Your truth and teach me,

for You are God my Savior,

and my hope is in You all day long.

– (Psalm 25:3-5)

 

After a trying week, I knew as I woke, that the Lord was reminding me anew of my need to cling to Him, in hope. To hope in Him, is to look forward believing, trusting with complete confidence, that He will work all things together for the ultimate good of those who love Him, regardless of how things appear in the moment. He hold us in the palm of His hands, and leads us on the path He has prepared for us. There are no guarantees that the road with be smooth and simple, in fact we are assured that there will be times of trial; yet our hope, (the assurance that all will turn out for the best), remains, when we place our trust in Christ.

 

When every wall,Cling to Hope

begins closing in;

what we thought sturdy,

we find paper thin –

let hope, rise up again.

When what was certain,

has become unclear;

when waves are crashing,

and we cannot steer –

allow hope, to draw near.

When pain overwhelms,

and it’s hard to breathe;

when what was assured,

has taken a leave –

to hope, let our hearts cleave.

Lord, show me Your ways,

teach me what to do;

for You are my God,

You lead me in truth –

all hope, made new in You.

 

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that our hope comes from You. Thank You that when we trust in You, we need not fear, for You hold us in the palm of Your hands. Thank You that as we seek You, You show us the way that we are meant to go, and You grant us all that is needed to do whatever You ask of us. Forgive us for our fearfulness, as it is so difficult to trust when we get weighed down by the weight of the world. Free us from that which binds us, and grant us Your peace. May we walk in the freedom of Your hope, and share the assurance our hearts hold with all whom we encounter. May many come to know salvation in You, as we love people, as You love us. Be glorified in all that we say and do. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

You have made known to me the paths of life; You will fill me with joy in Your presence.

– Acts 2:28

Comments are closed.