Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Book Review: The Walking Wounded: The Path from Brokenness to Wholeness

http://danledwith.wordpress.com/

The link above is to Pastor Dan’s blog, but you may have to search for the review! It seems wordpress has a glitch!

Learning To Be Full Of Grace And Truth.

One of the things I have come across more often than I would like in my pastoral ministry is abuse. Verbal abuse and bullying (of both youth and adults) has been the most common, but I have had people come to me who have dealt with more serious abuse: sexual, physical, and psychological. It is a sad fact that domestic abuse is no less common within the church as it is without. This is a very difficult and complicated issue to deal with on a pastoral basis. Abusers are often good at hiding under a guise of morality and victims are too often afraid to come forward for help. Add to that, that there is next to no training about this in seminary and good tools and resources are hard to find.

I am therefore very glad to be able to highly recommend The Walking Wounded: The Path from Brokenness…

View original post 300 more words

6 responses

  1. When we are offended/wounded, we know that we need to forgive the offender/abuser. This is very hard, I know. It took me a long time to learn of the freedom in forgiveness. One thing that I learned about forgiveness is that we need to forgive the person who offended us and we need to forgive the offense. It is very liberating.

    “Principles of Forgiveness”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/04/principles-of-forgiveness.html

    February 22, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    • You are right Tim, and sometimes for me it is a continuing process! I find that there is sometimes a kernel hidden that I must remove! God bless you my friend!

      February 22, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  2. Years ago I used to listen to Joyce Meyers quite a bit. I think she is a very good teacher. Every so often, she would mention that she was sexually abused by her dad. My first thought was, why does she occasionally talk about being sexually abused? Isn’t she supposed to forgive and forget? Later I realized that she is reaching out to sexually abused people: she isn’t doing it for herself, she is doing it for them.

    Sometimes the Lord has us share what we went through in the past to show how far we have come in Christ. I am very grateful for what the Lord has done in my life.

    February 22, 2014 at 7:31 pm

  3. When we forgive we are sometimes forgiving ourselves as well. Even though we are not the guilty party, we can take that burden upon ourselves. However I don’t think God asks us to forget, we remember so that we can recognize it and comfort those in need and perhaps prevent others from the experience and evil that we endured!
    I would not want others to experience what I have, although many have been far worse, but our past trials temper us for the future and give us both a strength to endure and an insight others may not have.

    February 22, 2014 at 7:45 pm

  4. Loopy, I can never thank you enough for all of your support. I really appreciate your kindness in getting the word out about my book. I look forward to you reading it and possibly sharing a book review also. Many blessings to you my sister!!

    February 23, 2014 at 3:08 am

    • I look forward to reading it as well! God bless you my friend!

      February 23, 2014 at 3:23 am