Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

The Abuser and the Enabler: Two Faces of Evil

Reading the stories about Woody Allen and Dylan Farrow brings back a lot of memories for me, sadly memories that I would just as soon forget. My earliest memory is sexual abuse from my step-father, but unlike Dylan’s mother, mine refused to believe. By her actions, she enabled my continued abuse, as well as the abuse of others that I will not mention here.
Listening to the defenders of Mr. Allen, accusing Miss Farrow of lying because they know him and he couldn’t possibly do what he has been accused of, strikes me of some of the worst of enablers. He couldn’t do it because to them he is the nice guy, the guy you would like to live next door.
I understand innocent until proven guilty,I just wonder if they offer that same courtesy to the person making the claim of abuse? Or are they so quick to claim superior knowledge because to admit that the person they think is so nice, may instead be a monster!
Barbara Walters first instinct was denial, and that is acceptable. None of us want to believe our friends are evil, but going to the lengths that she has and using her power and position to accuse Miss Farrow of lying makes her an enabler, and that is another face of evil!

22 responses

  1. Reblogged this on The Christian Gazette.

    February 7, 2014 at 5:16 am

  2. Amen. Awesome post. I am so sorry that you have suffered this abuse by someone who should have protected you. Things like this should never happen. I totally agree with you about Barbara Walters. She is wrong for speaking as she did. When I saw the video, it just amazed me at what she was saying. She obviously has no experience in abuse of any form because she would know that it goes on behind closed doors where the only ones who know are the abuser, the victim and our Lord God Almighty. Another thing that everyone is failing to consider is that Woody Allen had an affair with his teenage “step daughter” who he ended up marrying. He was a 50+yo man with a teenager who he was a father-figure to. I remember the debates going on back then and people saying that it was not incest because he was not her biological father. This is so wrong. There has been many wealthy and famous people who have gotten away with crimes because of who they are. I am not saying that he is guilty but I am saying that the facts speak for themselves that he has a track record of liking younger girls. I believe that there is a lot hidden… but then I know of no abusers who openly admit their guilt. Money and fame has historically been “get out of jail free cards”. It is time that victims are heard and not victimized again for speaking out. Comments like Barbara Walters’ is why many victims remain silent.

    February 7, 2014 at 5:46 am

    • You are so right,people who entertain do get a pass and that is probably the reason there is so much abuse of all kinds in Hollywood! I wish more people would speak out against Barbara Walters, she might see the error of her ways! God bless you Angel and thank you!

      February 7, 2014 at 11:15 am

      • Thank you Loopy. There is something about this whole thing that has gotten me upset and I have to pray and give it to the Lord. We are not to judge. We can not say that he is guilty. But there is a much bigger picture that we are missing including who he is married to now and their beginning together, her heritage, and their current children. Something has been stirred up within me and please join me in prayer that the truth will be exposed so that Barbara Walters and all who are bashing this poor victim will be brought to their knees. I don’t usually comment about “worldly things” but something is so wrong here.

        February 7, 2014 at 4:35 pm

        • Amen and will do so!

          February 7, 2014 at 4:39 pm

        • Please include Dylan’s brother as well, he may be in denial himself! I know my step-father did not put limits on gender!

          February 7, 2014 at 4:45 pm

          • Thanks for reminding me. I don’t know why this has gotten me stirred up… but something is going on and I will really have to pray about it. Thanks sis!!

            February 7, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    • It is really sad and frustrating when wealthy and famous people get away with certain crimes. Unfortunately, money talks and money perverts judgment, but the Lord is watching: “vengeance is mine saith the Lord.”

      This reminds me: a poor woman who commits adultery is a whore; a rich woman who commits adultery is just playing around.

      February 8, 2014 at 4:05 pm

      • Unfortunately although money intensifies this problem, the fact that so many are unwilling to even consider the possibility when someone makes an accusation, stifles justice for the victims and even discussion. What is truly sad is when someone like Barbara Walters uses their position to malign the one making the accusation! God bless you Tim!

        February 8, 2014 at 4:14 pm

        • I am very curious: did Barbara Walters do an interview with Woody Allen years ago? She has interviewed a lot of famous people over the years. Maybe she has a vested interest in defending Woody Allen. Maybe they are good, personal friends.

          February 8, 2014 at 5:06 pm

          • She said that she knew him and considered him a friend, and I do believe that she did do an interview with him but I am not sure as to the time. Just going by what I have read in the news report!

            February 8, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      • Yes, so true. There is a double standard in the world. It seems as we look historically at famous people who have gotten away with murders, child molestations, cheating and stealing… we see that many have bought their way out by their financial means while the poor have “public defenders” or people that really don’t care in many cases. Money talks in this world… But God’s Standards are not of this world and have never changed. They are set much higher than his world. I pray that these injustices to God’s people will be exposed and His people will be redeemed and vindicated. Thanks for your support. Many blessings to you!.

        February 8, 2014 at 4:23 pm

  3. cg

    Reblogged this on Catholic Glasses.

    February 7, 2014 at 6:13 am

    • Thank you for the reblog and God bless you!

      February 7, 2014 at 11:20 am

  4. Hello Loopyloo! I applaud you for having the courage to talk about your experience as a victim of sexual abuse. I am sure those awful memories are still painful. Sorry Woody Allen, my grand mother used to say: “If one saw smoke, then fire is close.

    February 7, 2014 at 11:15 am

    • Thank you Noel,God bless you my friend!

      February 7, 2014 at 11:19 am

  5. DIES IRAE -> DAY OF WRATH

    February 7, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    • Thank you Wil, my abuser is long dead and I do not know if he found God or not, I won’t say forgiving him was easy though! God bless you my friend!

      February 7, 2014 at 12:14 pm

  6. But you did, you reach forgiveness. Many are eating Inside by the past..with that can come even hate.
    (My abuse is of disciplinary order, which did bring me to Revolt in a way that was dangerous for me and others..it’s abuse, authority abuse, Rule By Fears and Punishment)
    I have forgive my father ..even apologize for a few bad thing I’ve done..like punch him…I regret that so much. So now my father is my father, he is dead, but knowing now certain thing I understand that his way of doing thing were already a progression from his Own Youth.

    That doesn’t excuse anything. But help in the understanding. Often thing repeat itself…The Abuse Become The Abuser and so on.
    As long there is not a cut in the line. It’s why it is important to check all sort of kind of abuse to be stop at a most early stage. More easy said then done May Be, but those who fight don’t give up the fight ..It is Saving life on the moment and for the future.
    Still Pray For You My Sister : ) 🙂 🙂

    February 7, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    • Thank you Wil, I need a lot of prayer!You are right, there has to be a break in the chain and I think people like Angel and Dianna help a lot with their faith in God and their ability to speak out!

      February 7, 2014 at 1:32 pm

  7. Woody Allen responded on Friday to daughter Dylan Farrow’s accusations of childhood sexual abuse in a New York Times op-ed — the same publication in which Farrow made the claim a week ago.

    February 13, 2014 at 2:38 am

    • Yes,I read that he did! God bless you!

      February 13, 2014 at 12:45 pm