Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

The Scroll and the Seven Seals

From the opening of the scroll to the list of calamities that will come to the earth, I have always found this portion of Revelation to be particularly unsettling. (Revelation 5-9) However, today, something new seemed to stand out to me. In the midst of a series of devastating displays, those who were sent to destroy, stopped, and made sure to mark those who belonged to God, so that we would be left alone by those who would later come to torture and destroy.

“Wait! Don’t do anything yet – hurt neither earth nor sea nor trees – until we have placed the seal of God upon the foreheads of His servants.” – (Revelation 7:3, Living Bible)

In a list of darkness and destruction that is to come, this is our ray of light. Our reminder of hope and help – that we are known, marked and set aside for something far greater than the here and now. Though the series of seals being broken and the events that are to unfold are nothing to look forward to, I am comforted in knowing that as His daughter, I shall somehow bear His seal upon my forehead, and be known. (As is true for all who call on His Name and place their trust in Him) I still hope to have lived out my life and already be in heaven when what was foretold comes to pass; but if I am not, there is much comfort in knowing that I am His. And, the best part that has not yet been covered in this portion of scripture, is how it all ends. Christ wins! Death and destruction will all pass away, and His peace and presence will reign forever. For that, I look forward with eager anticipation!

A sealed scroll,The Scroll and the Seven Seals

that none can open;

yet there is One,

the Lamb, who’s Chosen.

With every seal,

comes horse and rider;

sent to destroy,

human dividers.

Plagues and disease,

death from brutal wars;

much of the earth,

lost both near and far.

Such loss and pain,

who’d even survive?

Those with His mark,

kept safe for a time.

Yet even those,

in destruction lost;

if in the Lord,

paid is final cost.

For in the end,

His kingdom shall reign;

all found in Him,

will live free from pain.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You are faithful to show us more of Yourself as we earnestly seek You. Thank You that though we naturally fear what we do not know or understand, that You reveal to us that You are with us, and will remain with us in all things and at all times. Thank You that You are the same yesterday, today and forever, and that Your faithfulness has no end. Forgive us for our fearfulness of that which we do not know, and grant us wisdom and insight into that which You would have us to know. For the things we are not yet meant to grasp, give us faith to trust You more. May our hearts hold fast to You in faith, regardless of the world around us. Help us to love as You love us, and may many come into a saving relationship with You, so they too, may bear the seal upon their forehead… Be glorified in all that we say and do. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

3 responses

  1. Planting Potatoes

    has it really been so long since I’ve visited your blog that it seems a bit different to me or have you made some changes? 🙂 I really need to make a better effort to visit more often! 🙂 God bless you!

    December 28, 2013 at 6:24 pm

  2. Love that photo! It was great showing it to my daughter so she can picture what’s going on in Rev 5-7. 🙂

    December 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm

  3. I sometimes wonder what it would be like to not be one of His chosen, to not be His daughter; and for a second fear fills me and a sense of immense loneliness swamps me, so deep and dark that it smothers my breath for a moment. But only for a moment, and then I thank God I am His!

    December 30, 2013 at 2:03 am