Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Grace in Weakness

I loathe public speaking. My palms sweat, my hands shake, my voice wavers, and I imagine my face is covered in every shade of crimson, when I am asked to do so. That being said, I find myself in a season of stretching, in which each time I have been asked, I have known the nudging was to say “yes“, despite my personal disdain. It seems no matter how I pray, I do not become queen of confidence when it is my turn to speak. His grace gets me through it, but I physically feel shaken.

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” – (2 Corinthians 12:9) Though we know not what Paul’s “weakness” was, it was something that tormented him and made what he did, more difficult. Despite the rejection of his request for it’s removal, he chose to rely on Christ and what He had given – power in his weakness. I have found this to be a great encouragement, as I have asked many times to not be so fearful when it comes to public speaking. Though the physical reaction has not been removed, His grace has been present each time I have trusted Him to meet me in this place, and people have made a point to let me know that they received something from what I had to share. If that isn’t His power present in my weakness, I don’t know what is.

I’ll answer You, Lord,Grace in Weakness

whatever You ask;

regardless of size,

or mountainous task.

For I know You’ll be,

wherever I am;

so I need not fear,

on You, I depend.

Use Lord, my weakness,

to show Your great strength;

equip me to move,

and go to great lengths.

May I boast in You,

of Your mighty grace;

Your goodness and love,

and faithful embrace.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that Your grace is sufficient. Thank You that You are more than enough. Thank You that in You, Your power may be made known in our weaknesses. Forgive us for our fears and doubts, and for our disdain for our own weaknesses. Help us to see our weaknesses as opportunities for Your strength to be shown, and allow us to embrace the power that You place in us to do as You ask. Lead us to love as You love us, and may many come to know You as their perfect place of peace, as they choose to invest in a lasting relationship in You. May You be made evident, even in our weaknesses. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

One response

  1. It’s funny, many people envy those with “public” or “visible” gifts, but Shannon’s take on what’s it’s actually like to be that person is right on. We need God’s strength as much as anyone and would usually rather just hide at the back as much as anyone.
    I guess God loves to put us all in positions where we can’t just run on our own steam and are forced to rely on Him!
    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    November 18, 2013 at 6:15 pm