Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Stamps and Stumbling Blocks

Every morning is an adventure for my boys and me, and yesterday was no exception. We needed to make a quick stop at the grocery store for stamps on the way to school. As we pulled into the lot to several empty spaces in front, I prepared to turn, only to catch a pedestrian weaving randomly before me, so I braked and waited for him to safely arrive onto the curb. I skipped a space and turned into the next, leaving an open spot for the vehicle behind me. The boys and I piled out of the car, only to be greeted by an angry male voice, yelling at me about my parking. Baffled by his outrage, I gave him a perplexed look and continued into the store. Adventurous and Cautious were ready to defend my honor, but I quickly let them know that it would not be necessary.

Waiting for the stamps and our Starbucks, I replayed the scene that had just unfolded, again in my mind. Why was that man so heated? What could I have possibly done that made him feel it necessary to yell at me in front of my boys? First, I felt angry. Then, with nearly the next breath, calm. His sweet Spirit simply reminded me that I am to be love and light before my boys, regardless of what others choose to do. When we returned to the car, I told them that we needed to forgive the man, and to pray for him. Perhaps his morning had began horribly, or he was fighting a battle bigger than we could imagine – either way, clearly he could use our prayer.

“We put no stumbling block in anyone’s path, so that our ministry will not be discredited.” – (2 Corinthians 6:3) Every waking minute of most of my days, is witnessed by someone. Daily, I am seen by many young and impressionable minds. What I do in both triumph and trial, matters. My choices are modeling a life with Christ for my children, and whether they know it or not, to everyone else around me. Each word and deed must be seasoned with the love and light of our Savior. No, I have not arrived. It is a daily decision to trust Him, and I must make amends quickly when I choose poorly. I am so very grateful for His unending grace, and His patient persistence to remain with me as He continues to refine, so that I might more clearly reflect Him.

When the world wages war,Stamps and Stumbling Blocks

how shall I reply?

Will I fight to be right,

my Savior deny?

How might they respond,

if I act in love?

If I give them kindness,

rather than a shove?

Every eye watching,

to see what we’ll do;

testify of His grace,

so He’s seen in You.

Speak not only with words,

but with actions true;

give all unto others,

as He’s done for You.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank You that You gave us not only the perfect example of how we are to live, through Your Son, Jesus, but You have equipped each of us with the power to follow His lead, through the power of Your Spirit living in the heart of each of us who believes. Teach us how to be a living testimony of Your faithfulness and goodness and grace, and keep us from being a stumbling block to anyone. Forgive us for places where we have faltered and fallen short, and help us to keep short accounts before You and one another, so that we do not discredit the light and love that You long to display through us. May we live and love in such a way, that all who are around us will recognize there is something different in us that they desire. Lead them unto You, Lord. Thank You that You are willing to use us, despite our flaws and shortcomings, to share the hope that is held in eternity with You. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present.

2 responses

  1. “…His sweet Spirit simply reminded…” THIS is a clear example of “Divine Revelation!”

    Proverbs 3:5 “…Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding…”

    “Good Post!”

    November 16, 2013 at 4:14 pm

  2. Pingback: Stamps and Stumbling Blocks | just2bwise