Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

A Letter from Annie Nowlin

For those of you who don’t know Annie, she is a great friend who also has a blog called Lupus Chronicles and has Lupus herself. She is a former RN who had to leave the job she loved because of the disabling condition of the disease. She is also someone who I was fortunate enough to have as a contributor to this blog. There was quite a while that she was unable to do very much blogging at all but as you can read from her letter below, she is finding that God has a plan for her and her husband and is leading her to a place where she can find some help for some of her physical problems. This is a great testimony both on how God works and how He leads people to those that can share a seed.  While we still suffer adversity, it is often adversity that is a sign that He is working in our lives. Please include Annie in your prayers and if you would like to learn more about her, her blog Lupus Chronicles is an excellent place to learn her story. I don’t want to violate WordPress’ terms of service so I am not including a link to her online store here, but if you are interested in visiting you can leave a comment here or on her blog and we will send you the link via email. Thanks and God bless!

Letter from Annie:

 “I think you may have gathered this from my recent blog posts, but I do believe that the Lord had a plan. About 1/2 year ago, a gal was visiting the Yahoo forum about osteonecrosis that I co-moderate. She found out that I had problems with my ankles, told me of her doctor at Yale in CT and suggested that I contact him (few MDs  are innovative when it comes to treatment of ankle osteonecrosis.) I sent him my films, he said he’d be able to do something, but that Colorado and CT were MILES apart. He suggested instead that I see a colleague of his in Vail, CO. Rey and I went to see the guy in Vail who I thought was very great and I’d trust with my life. Intelligent, personable and EVERYTHING. He felt that he could help, but with my other medical problems, he wasn’t so comfortable with his ”small 35 bed orthopedic hospital.” So he referred me to a fellow who has quite a reputation as a foot/ankle surgeon in Chicago.
Long story (and this has already been long!) short, Rey and I just got back from Chicago and Dr. Haddad can replace my ankle. Unless he has a cancellation, I won”t have surgery until January but, I’ve waited this long. I’ve searched and searched. Dear Lord, guide Dr. Haddad’s hands.  It’s a 4 hour surgery and then, there is NO WEIGHT BEARING FOR SIX WEEKS!! I’ll need to stay in rehab in Chicago for that time, so that means sooo long away from home, but the ability to move around WITHOUT pain is worth it.
I also thought of you as Rey and I took our first step into the study of religion. A good friend’s church had a series of really small Bible studies discussing the book of Mark and I’ve got to say i found it quite enjoyable, Rey much more so. I think you, Rachel, Marianne and others have been placed in my life to teach me that there is another way, a way other than MY WAY. I now feel signs, that I was certain that didn’t exist.
Anywhoo. The past 1 1/2 year, I’ve been taking an internet class which fostered a desire to learn about the web and how to build websites and I’ve learned a lot about WP and a lot me-things I didn’t think would EVER IN A MILLION YEARS interest me.  I’ve opened up my own internet store, YourHomeGoods.com  “Your Store for Home Decor”, I sort of need to make a go of my store; this is not just a luxury for the housewife who has nothing better to do. Rey hasn’t worked for nearly 3 years (in December) so we live of my Social Security Income (and you know how ‘generous’ that is, so we’ve pretty much depleted our savings and ‘bankruptcy’ has entered our talks. This is one thing for me to give to the Lord, Loopy, but I also want to ‘share’ it with you. This scares me, but I can’t let it petrify me into inaction. If you can, I’d love for you to say a prayer”

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses

  1. My prayers will be with you Annie~ You’re a spiritual giant in order to have God to test you and your meddle ~as He did His ONLY Begotten ! May your doctors and their hands, wisdom be amplified according to everyone of your needs.
    And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

    August 26, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    • Thank you, I have; I don’t think I’m any more a spiritual ‘giant’ than anyone else; though I am quite spiritual! I just haven’t rectified myself with the Lord’s place in this whole world. Annie

      August 26, 2013 at 9:49 pm