Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

If Thou Seek Him

Jeremiah 23:24 Can any hide himself in secret places that I shall not see him? saith theLord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? saith the Lord.

Consider, if you will, Ellen! She was a woman that dreamed of doing good. Her and her husband had great plans. They wanted to go on a missions trip and give Bibles to those that needed them. On the way to the airport, they had an accident. Ellen was not seriously hurt, but for some reason, she just didn’t wake up.

Every day her husband sat beside her bed and waited for her. He knew that if there were any way that she could, she would wake up and get right back on the plan that they had together. He spent a good deal of time in prayer, sometimes even questioning God as to why this happened to Ellen, when she wanted nothing more than to serve Him.

As for Ellen, her sleep wasn’t dreamless. In her dreams she walked the dusty roads of the countryside, giving Bibles to whomever she chanced upon. Day after day, she walked these roads and most of the people that she met, met her with smiles and eager anticipation. In her dreams she was fulfilling her desire to do God’s work.

A hundred days Ellen made her trip in her dreams. One morning her husband kneeled down at her bedside and prayed. When he was done, he started to sit down and noticed something different. Ellen was smiling! He rang the bell for the nurse and before she got to the room, he noticed a stranger standing beside him. Before he could question the stranger, a peace that is unimaginable spread over him  and the stranger said, “Her work here is done.”

Ellen stopped breathing at that moment, and her husband almost felt her spirit left her body. The doctors and nurses tried to bring her back, but were unsuccessful. A hundred days he waited for her to wake, a hundred days she did her work in her dreams.

When she opened her eyes, she saw the welcoming arms of our Lord and Savior and He greeted her with the words “Welcome, my good and faithful servant.”

This story is not real, it is brought to you simply to encourage you to consider! He knows us and there is no place that He can not see. If you search for the Lord, you will find Him! Where you are makes no difference!

1 Chronicles 28:9

King James Version (KJV)

9 And thou, Solomon my son, know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the Lord searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever.

Psalm 139

King James Version (KJV)

139 O lord, thou hast searched me, and known me.

2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.

3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.

4 For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, OLord, thou knowest it altogether.

5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me.

6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.

7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?

8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.

9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;

10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.

11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.

12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.

13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb.

14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.

16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.

17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!

18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.

19 Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men.

20 For they speak against thee wickedly, and thine enemies take thy name in vain.

21 Do not I hate them, OLord, that hate thee? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against thee?

22 I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them mine enemies.

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Choosing: painting by first husband, George Fr...

Choosing: painting by first husband, George Frederic Watts, c. 1864 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 responses

  1. This post is a great comfort to me because my friend who was in a coma for four years just passed away, and I wondered what she was experiencing as she lay in that hospital bed, seemingly accomplishing nothing, staring into space, cared for by the hospital staff. “He knows us and there is no place that He can not see.” Thank you for this post. God bless you!

    August 2, 2013 at 2:41 pm

  2. You are most welcome my friend, for some reason this just popped into my head about three days ago and just kept coming into my mind! I am so glad that it brought you some comfort.

    August 2, 2013 at 2:44 pm

  3. what a wonderful post! Thank you sincerely ~ Blessings to you always ~ Debbie

    August 3, 2013 at 2:35 am

    • And to you Debbie!

      August 3, 2013 at 11:01 am