Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Praise the Lord, O My Soul

Praise the Lord O My Soul
Praise the Lord, O my soul,

all my inmost being;

yes, praise His holy Name,

He who makes blind seeing.

Praise the Lord, O my soul,

never forget His love;

He forgives and He heals,

gains strength to rise above.

Praise the Lord, O my soul,

who redeems sinful lives;

He crowns us with His love,

our purpose He will drive.

Praise the Lord, O my soul,

He alone satisfies;

granting our desires,

like eagle’s wings, we rise.

Praise the Lord, O my soul,

who works all righteousness;

grants justice where there’s need,

freedom for the oppressed.

God is compassionate,

by His grace, makes us whole;

for He abounds in love,

praise the Lord, O my soul.

(Responding to Psalm 103:1-9)

Dear Heavenly Father, may my whole soul ever praise You. Thank You that You accept our offering, though we deserve it not. Thank You that Your love forgives, heals, and redeems us. Forgive us for attempting to satisfy our souls with anything other than You. Teach us to praise You with all that we are, and may many come to know who You are and how great Your love is for each of us, individually. May many come to know You amazing love. Amen.

© Shannon Elizabeth Moreno and Revelations in Writing, May 2011 – present
2 responses

  1. We are commanded to love God with our whole heart. That is because it is possible to love God with only a part of your heart. Only when you are thankful to God with your whole heart do you really love Him with your whole heart. That means you must be thankful for everything in your life, past and present. Thankfulness is a gauge that measures your heart condition; it reveals anything which is blocking your love for God. Thankfulness to God is an indication of a heart that has right standing before God. Out of a thankful heart flow expressions of love to God, including praise, worship, and obedience. This is a good question to ask your self, “is there anything that I am not thankful to God for”?

    July 31, 2013 at 2:16 am