Attempting to obey God and follow Jesus Christ our Lord

Doctrine of False Teachers

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglican Church http://www.stjohnsashfield.org.au, Ashfield, New South Wales. Illustrates Jesus' description of himself "I am the Good Shepherd" (from the Gospel of John, chapter 10, verse 11). This version of the image shows the detail of his face. The memorial window is also captioned: "To the Glory of God and in Loving Memory of William Wright. Died 6th November, 1932. Aged 70 Yrs." (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Doctrine of the False Teachers     2 John 7-9

For many deceivers have gone out into the world who do not confess Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist.

Look to yourselves, that we do not lose those things we worked for, but that we may receive a full reward.

Whoever transgresses and does not abide in the doctrine of Christ does not have God. He who abides in the doctrine of Christ has both the Father and the Son.

Avoid the False Teachers    2 John 10-11

If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him;

for he who greets him shares in his evil deeds.

40 responses

  1. I think that the question is, what is the doctrine of Christ? Those wh call themselves Christians adhere to differing gospels. I’m sorry to say that but it is true.

    God Bless

    April 28, 2012 at 12:43 am

    • There is only one gospel. Paul is very clear and unambiguous.

      May 8, 2012 at 11:02 pm

      • Amen! However, not all that claim to be followers of Christ preach the gospel that is the word, instead they present a new word written to suit their own ideas. This is an example of a false doctrine

        May 8, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      • I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting him who called you in the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— 7 not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ. 8 But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach to you a gospel contrary to the one we preached to you, let him be accursed. 9 As we have said before, so now I say again: If anyone is preaching to you a gospel contrary to the one you received, let him be accursed.
        Gal 1:6-9 (ESV)

        The Gospel :Now I would remind you, brothers, of the gospel I preached to you, which you received, in which you stand, 2 and by which you are being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you— unless you believed in vain.

        3 For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, 4 that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures, 5 and that he appeared to Cephas, then to the twelve. 6 Then he appeared to more than five hundred brothers at one time, most of whom are still alive, though some have fallen asleep. 7 Then he appeared to James, then to all the apostles. 8 Last of all, as to one untimely born, he appeared also to me. 9 For I am the least of the apostles, unworthy to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. 10 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace toward me was not in vain. On the contrary, I worked harder than any of them, though it was not I, but the grace of God that is with me
        1 Cor 15:1-10 (ESV)

        As far as the doctrine of Christ, the writings of Paul flesh out how we, the church, are to operate within the new paradigm established by the gospel. I believe if one uses proper hermeneutics, the truth of the doctrine of Christ is pretty clear and not open to a multitude of doctrinal views. Then again what would you expect from a young earth, reformed Baptist, no compromise, sold out to Christ type of guy. : )

        May 8, 2012 at 11:17 pm

        • Amen and amen!!!!

          May 8, 2012 at 11:36 pm

      • Yes, something about itching ears.

        PS. What a great blog. It brings great credit to the boss, Jesus Christ.

        May 8, 2012 at 11:24 pm

        • Thank you, I hope that it is to His glory. God bless!

          May 8, 2012 at 11:39 pm

  2. You are right, there are many different ideas about what the doctrine of Christ is, and many translations that do not quite fit the originals. I personally do not know the answer, I think that we do get a desire from God when we accept His Son as our Savior, to learn and obey. We are fairly clearly told what is not, that should lead us in the right direction. Perhaps the answer is to strive to follow Christ’s example to the best of our ability. We do have plenty of opportunity to read His words, where many have never had that same chance. To them, perhaps the word of God is us and what we show by our actions. Then perhaps the different translations matter little when the faith and desire have been planted in us by the Holy Spirit and the evidence of it shows in our actions and the face that the rest of the world sees. To many people the only book they will ever have the opportunity to read is the book that we are. We must do our best to be a faithful representation of the gospel. God bless you.

    April 28, 2012 at 1:52 am

  3. wdednh

    You Know Loopy , i Love this : You post and writ “For many deceivers have gone out into the world who do not confess Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist.”
    And wooo they7 fall from the cracks… we just got rid of on false prophet from my site here comes a new…….
    Keep up the great work!

    April 28, 2012 at 2:29 am

    • I think that Brother Randolf is still searching for the right answers Anthony and he will find it my friend. We are instructed to test others, and we can’t do it without asking the important questions and Brother Randolfs question was a good one that forced me to reevaluate my answer and remind me that I should think before I speak. God bless you my friend.

      April 28, 2012 at 11:09 am

      • wdednh

        You are on the money. Dbl Blessing back at you 🙂

        April 28, 2012 at 10:21 pm

  4. The doctrine of Christ was the Royal Commandment: love one another as I have loved you. The yoke is easy. The question really is, What should we do with the brutish pastors???

    April 28, 2012 at 4:27 am

    • You are right Diana, and I want to thank you for reminding me that I should think and make sure my answer is totally truthful before I post it. As for what we should do with the brutish pastors? Nothing my friend, they will be judged when the time comes. Those that follow them that truly are looking for God will go somewhere else and those that are not will get their just reward as do the pastors. We can’t do anything more than be living vessels for the word of God my friend. That is our task. God bless you and thank you. I put up a second response to Bro. Randolf to correct my mistake!

      April 28, 2012 at 11:14 am

      • Thanks, Loo. I want to make it absolutely clear that I was not referring to Brother Randolph as a brutish pastor. I was referring to false teachers.

        Besides, every believer should know this: ASK GOD. He never delays in answering your questions or revealing something to you that you need to know. Praise His Holy name.

        April 28, 2012 at 2:49 pm

  5. Reblogged this on My Beautiful World and commented:
    My friend Loopyloo305 posted this. I like it.

    April 28, 2012 at 4:30 am

  6. Brother Randolf, I feel the need to correct myself to a certain degree. I said in my first response to you that I didn’t know the answer and yet thanks to my friends, I was reminded that Jesus Himself gave us the answer. I know what my Bible tells me and what my heart says is true, and that is what Jesus said in Matthew 22:37-38 when the disciples asked Him which is the great commandment and He answered “You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, whit all your soul, and will all your mind” He went on “This is the first and great commandment”, then He said “And the second is You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
    And then the final touch in verse 40 “On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”
    If we don’t have these two commandments in our hearts and follow them, nothing else matters. In loving our neighbors as we do ourselves I think the most important thing we need to remember is that because we love God foremost, we want to please Him, that also means that we must do our best to teach and show others the way to Him, both by word and by action. We are the gospel of Christ and if those two commandments do not live in us, we are false prophets and Jesus will tell us when we knock on the door, “I do not know you”, and send us away.

    April 28, 2012 at 11:04 am

    • I am in agreement with you that Christ’s Commands are a doctrine. The doctrine even. You know that I asks questions unabashedly. I am not afraid of the light of discourse. The Truth is revealed that way, one way or another. Thank you for realizing that my earlier question was merely that and intended as an afront by any means.

      I also wondered whether by “doctrine of Christ” you were referring to the Gospel. I’ve noticed some false Gospels lately. Those are false teachings as well.

      God Bless

      April 29, 2012 at 1:22 am

      • Not intended as an afront. Sorry.

        April 29, 2012 at 1:25 am

      • I ask questions as well, Bro. Randolf, I think that it is needed to question and it helps others to focus on what they mean! You are most welcome and I hope you feel free to question here anytime. I truly hope that and pray that I am always open to being questioned, because if not, my arrogance will damn me!

        No, in this post I was not! My Pastor has pointed out a lot of new bibles that are leaving out many things or telling their followers that they are not important, I am saddened to realize that there are so many who think that they can compromise and are willing to do so.
        God bless you as well my friend!

        April 29, 2012 at 10:24 am

      • jimlockey1

        I like the way you got to the heart of it in your first comment

        April 29, 2012 at 7:50 pm

        • Thank you and God bless!

          April 29, 2012 at 11:44 pm

  7. Pingback: What is “The Doctrine of Christ” « The Christian Gazette

  8. You are most welcome Diana! LOL my friend, didn’t think that you were referring to him as a brutish pastor. There are plenty of those out there! Especially the ones that want your money and then spend it on themselves.

    April 28, 2012 at 3:50 pm

  9. The more we read the Word of God, the more we become familiar with the Lord’s real teachings. In time, as our relationship with the Lord Jesus grows closer, He is able to reveal more truth. The problem with false prophets and false doctrines is that they are supported by people who are not close enough to God to see the truth. Religious attitudes can become set in concrete, and instead of defending and defining Gospel truth, such people defend their false ideas. It is incumbent upon those who know the truth to witness of it, regardless of persecution. There is only One Truth. There is only one Gospel. There is only one pure instruction manual regarding discipleship. If our hearts are right with God, He will continue leading us into all truth. I have several studies about this topic on my site. Thanks for the post.

    April 29, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    • Amen and amen RJ, sad to say there are those who don’t want to make an effort! I am including your site address so people can read those studies. God bless my friend.

      Real Christianity http://getrealchristianity.wordpress.com/

      April 29, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      • Thanks!

        April 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

        • You are most welcome! God bless!

          April 29, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  10. To me the “doctrine of Christ” is belief in salvation through grace, Jesus’ blood and Resurrection. IA person might only have a tiny belief in that during a moment of crisis. When a small place within their heart cries out to God. At that time, only God knows that man or woman’s heart. It’s not up to us to judge anyone by what we see on the surface. Man looks on the outward appearance but God looks at the heart.

    The last sentence seems quite unfriendly. Sometimes it may be wise not to receive someone with other doctrines into your house. The scripture must speak to you on that matter at that time. And in whatever your circumstance may be.

    To me, it is not always about our homes. We may be told a doctrine contrary to the doctrine of Christ. In that case our home means my heart. And that I should not embrace that belief.

    I have a loved one who is an atheist. We do discuss my love of Christ. And his choice to be atheist. But he never tries to dissuade me. And I respect his free will to choose. The only proactive thing I do is put him in God’s hands in prayer.

    If he were to put pressure on me, manipulate, insult, degrade or otherwise try to change my choice, I would not “receive” his words into my “house”. Specifically, my heart.

    I like that scripture can be applicable to more than one circumstance. It has wisdom for many circumstances.

    May 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    • You are right that we are given the tools of discernment, our problem is sometimes we actively ignore things we need to pay attention to. Sometimes we must take a stand as you say. Thank you for the comment and God bless you!

      May 1, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      • So true. It is hard to speak out sometimes when you don’t want to offend anyone. But sometimes you have to speak up. I only hope and pray I will do it when the Lord leads me. In his timing.

        May 1, 2012 at 7:49 pm

  11. How do you differentiate between ‘false’ teachers ‘true’ teachers? It appears to me that anybody that does not share your viewpoint, you label as ‘false’…fair enough, but I wouldn’t do the same to you because I don’t like to slap labels on people and I’m not arrogant enough to assume I’m definitely right.

    May 2, 2012 at 6:55 pm

  12. Personally, I do not judge anyone nor do I label anyone. I agree with you that slapping labels on people is arrogant and wrong. As for how you differentiate between false teachers and true teachers, we have the Bible for the answer for what is the evidence of a true teacher and that was in part my response to Bro. Randolf ” I know what my Bible tells me and what my heart says is true, and that is what Jesus said in Matthew 22:37-38 when the disciples asked Him which is the great commandment and He answered “You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and will all your mind” He went on “This is the first and great commandment”, then He said “And the second is You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
    And then the final touch in verse 40 “On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”
    True teachers teach this and you can tell it not only by what they say but also by what they do. A teacher teaches by more that just words. If he at the very least, try to live it, it tells me that he doesn’t really believe it either.
    But it isn’t my place to tell anyone they are wrong, however the Bible also tells me if I know the truth and do not point it out, that the blood of those lost and the blood of the false teacher will be on my head as well. Everyone should have the opportunity to know what the Bible says, but whether they choose to follow it or not, is up to them.
    If, for instance, I see have a Pastor who is abusing his position, using drugs or having affairs, it is pretty obvious that this Pastor does not really follow Christ isn’t it? If he were loving his neighbor as himself, he would not be taking advantage of them would he? And if He loved God, he would desire to please Him and not himself!

    Do you understand what I mean? In a situation like this, I would remove myself from this church, but while I might speak to the pastor and explain why I am leaving, to tell everyone his mistakes would not be my place. Truly God is capable of dealing with people like this and He will lead true followers away and expose that false teachers for what they are.. I realize that this is a very long answer, but this is an important question. Thank you for asking and I hope that I was able to explain well enough. God bless you, Larry!

    May 2, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  13. I believe in one God, Father Almighty, Creator of
    heaven and earth, and of all things visible and invisible.

    And in one Lord Jesus Christ, the only-begotten Son of
    God, begotten of the Father before all ages;

    Light of Light, true God of true God, begotten,
    not created, of one essence with the Father
    through Whom all things were made.

    Who for us men and for our salvation
    came down from heaven and was incarnate
    of the Holy Spirit and the Virgin Mary and became man.

    He was crucified for us under Pontius Pilate,
    and suffered and was buried;

    And He rose on the third day,
    according to the Scriptures.

    He ascended into heaven
    and is seated at the right hand of the Father;

    And He will come again with glory to judge the living
    and dead. His kingdom shall have no end.

    And in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the Creator of life,
    Who proceeds from the Father, Who together with the
    Father and the Son is worshipped and glorified, Who
    spoke through the prophets.

    In one, holy, catholic, and apostolic Church.

    I confess one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.

    I look for the resurrection of the dead,
    and the life of the age to come.

    Amen.

    May 2, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • I have friends who are Catholic, God bless you my friend! And thank you!

      May 2, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      • You’re welcome 🙂 This is the ancient version preserved and unchanged by the Orthodox – and for us, this is what it’s all about, period. But I think non-Orthodox can also find clarity in this creed. Thank you for your post, it’s inspiring a future post of my own.

        May 3, 2012 at 2:46 pm

  14. 🙂 You are most welcome and I will look forward to it!

    May 3, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  15. Seems to me, we know pretty well who is a ‘false’ teacher without having to be taught by some self-appointed expert…we just like such teachers’ promises (usually never delivered) better than the uphill route of the straight and narrow that we should be taking. People like an easy way out of anything hard, right?

    But we can make mistakes; so can others and that says we should remember to look at other’s mistakes charitably…often enough, it will be we who are wrong!

    May 4, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    • If people want to know who is a false teacher, all they have to do is a reality check with the word of God! The problem really arises when people don’t want to really know.
      If a person really believes in the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, they will keep searching for the truth. If all they really want is a religion that makes them feel good about themselves, they will wind up disappointed in the end. It may sound cold, but even here they make the choice. Even people who are true believers can make mistakes but God knows what is in their hearts and He is able to send them the right direction, if they are listening.
      God bless you Jack!

      May 4, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  16. Pingback: Loss Of Grace « My Blog